March 17, 2010

Classic Elite KAL Wrap Up

Posted in KAL, knitting, Online KAL, Yarn, Yarn Shop activity tagged , , , , , , at 6:33 pm by outdoorknitter

Well I have fallen a week behind in posting for our CEY 3-button Cardi Kal.  I have added a few notes to the prior blog entry, of things worth mentioning that were missed the first time around.  At this point, once you have worked through the prior post, things should be smooth sailing.  

My reason for being a bit late…we stopped knitting for a little and made us some buttons!

I profess at being an amature a beginner at best when it comes to polymer clay play.  However, the great thing about polymer is that it can disguise a lot of mishaps.  While preparing for our Saturday’s class; Button, Button  (an introductin to polymer clay), I wanted to test the bake time for the oven we would be using, because if it’s not right then all of our creations would be for naught!  

So, I made a few buttons to match my 3-button cardi.  I didn’t intentionally make them for my cardi, and they didn’t come out as I had anticipated.  So in a sense you could say I did everything wrong.  Hence, I’ve named them my MB’s, mistake buttons.  I even made 4 so I can sew a spare on the inside.

I think everyone that attended the class had a ball, and there were some beautiful buttons made (a huge improvement over my MB’s!).  I wish I could share them with you, but we were having so much fun that I FORGOT to take a snapshot.   And I don’t think we’ll be seeing Mary for a while, she couldn’t wait to get home and play more.  As she left she was mumbling something about feeding her husband buttons for dinner!

I will say this for future reference….once everyone began to blend their colors a 2nd or 3rd time, they seemed to like the results so much more. 

We had additional distractions as well!  Last year’s KAL was the Great American Aran Afghan and a couple of the ladies that have finished (or so close you can call it finished) blessed us with a show and tell.

First Mag…

Then Marty…

And sweet Marty suggested we have a square designed by The Local Needle.  So designed around the friendships made, the love for fiber and yarns, here it is…

These ladies deserve a pat on the back a holiday weekend celebration! 

A job well done and to be admired by so many.

1 Comment »

  1. The cardigan is looking great! And those afghans are to die for. Wonderful work, ladies.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

